Who We Are

We develop cyber security capability and capacity to help keep Australia safe.

The CSCRC is dedicated to fostering the next generation of Australian cyber security talent, developing innovative projects to strengthen our nation’s security capabilities.

We build effective collaborations between industry, government and researchers, creating real-world solutions for pressing cyber-related problems.

We achieve this by identifying, funding and supporting research projects that build Australia’s cyber security capacity and address issues across the cyber spectrum, both technology and policy related.

The CSCRC also undertakes a key public role in cyber security advocacy, providing evidence-based commentary around relevant cyber security issues.



The CSCRC develops cyber security capability and capacity to help keep Australia safe. We do this by developing innovative, real-world research and cultivating outstanding talent to solve pressing cyber security challenges.

Cooperative Research Centres (CRCs) are collaborations between industry, government and academia. They offer a unique opportunity for Participants to bridge the gap between research and real-world applications, creating material solutions for sector-specific problems. CRCs drive innovations and help build Australia’s capability and capacity for the future.

The 2018 the CSCRC was awarded $50 million in Commonwealth funding over seven years. This funding is supplemented by contributions from industry, university and government agency Participants.

Build Outstanding Talent

Build Outstanding Talent:

We build Australia’s cyber security capability and capacity by developing the next generation of talent.

Develop research 
with impact

Develop research with impact:

We drive collaboration between industry, governments and academia to generate relevant research that solves real-world problems.

Be an independent voice for cyber security

Be an independent voice for cyber security:

We are recognised as a source of trusted advice regarding cyber security, helping demystify complex issues.

Multiply the impact of our work by operating effectively

Multiply the impact of our work by operating effectively:

We aim to meet and 
exceed the expectations 
of Participants and the Commonwealth and be a responsible steward of resources.

Our Board

The Hon Kate Lundy

Chair and Independent, Non-Executive Director

Abigail Bradshaw

Head Australian Cyber Security Centre Australian Signals Directorate

Professor Caroline Finch AO

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) at Edith Cowan University
Research Participant Representative

John M Green

FAICD, Sf Finsia
Independent, Non-Executive Director

Stephen Merchant

Independent, Non-Executive Director

Eddie Sheehy

BComm, MBS(Finance), MAICD
Independent, Non-Executive Director

Anne Templeman-Jones

Independent, Non-Executive Director

Gregory Thomas

Global Head, National Cyber Security Officers, Cisco Systems
Industry Participant Representative

Jennifer Westacott AO

BA(Hons), D.Litt, FAICD, FIPAA
Independent, Non-Executive Director

Dr Jon Whittle

Director, CSIRO’s Data61
Non-Independent Director (ex-officio)

Our Team

Rachael Falk

Chief Executive Officer

Professor Helge Janicke

Professor Helge Janicke

Deputy CEO and Research Director

Suba Tharmarajah

Suba Tharmarajah

Chief Operating Officer

Anne-Louise Brown

Anne-Louise Brown

Director of Policy

Louise Momber

Louise Momber

Senior Corporate Affairs Manager

Amber Austin-Wright

Amber Austin-Wright

Senior Policy Manager

Domagoj Basic

Domagoj Basic

Research Project Manager

Dr. Ian Martinus

Dr. Ian Martinus

Head of Commercialisation and Impact

Surya Nepal

Dr Surya Nepal

Deputy Research Director

Linda McQuaid

Linda McQuaid

Executive officer to the Deputy CEO and Research Director

Wendy Duke

Wendy Duke

Project Support Officer

Tanisha Tikaram

Tanisha Tikaram

Executive Assistant to the Chief Executive Officer

Our Participants

Charles Sturt University Australia
Edith Cowan Unievrsity
University of NSW
Queensland University of Technology
University of Adelaide
Deakin University
CSIRO Data61
Australian Cyber Security Centre
Quintessence Labs
Australian Signals DIrectorate
Tata Consultancy Services
Australia's Academic and Research Network
National Australia Bank
Bae Systems
Fifth Domain
Australian Federal Police
NSW Government
Government of Western Australia
Department of Home Affairs

Our Third Party Sponsors


Acknowledgement of Country

We acknowledge the many Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and honour their Elders past and present.

We respect their deep enduring connection to their lands, waterways and surrounding clan groups since time immemorial. We cherish the richness of First Nations Peoples’ artistic and cultural expressions.

We are privileged to gather on this Country and through this website to share knowledge with future generations.